About Us

Pocahontas County Court House

Welcome to Beautiful Pocahontas County, West Virginia.

Pocahontas County is the third largest county in the state of West Virginia.  Also known as the Birthplace of Rivers; eight rivers have their headwaters here-Cherry River, Cranberry River, Elk River, Gauley River, Greenbrier River, Tygart River, Williams River and the Shaver Fork of the Cheat.  The Court House was built here in 1887 after the county seat was moved to Marlinton from Huntersville.  More than one-third of the Monongahela National Forest lies within Pocahontas County.  Explore our site for more wonderful locations in our picturesque, friendly community.

To Contact Us:
Pocahontas County Commission
900 C Tenth Avenue
Marlinton, WV 24954
Email: Sue Helton shelton1@assessor.state.wv.us.